UT Gives Community Leadership Awards at Carver Museum

The University of Texas at Austin honored one organization and three individuals for outstanding public service and work on civil rights at the Sixth Annual Community Leadership Awards Ceremony at the Carver Museum and Cultural Center on December 6, 2012. The event was co-sponsored by the Office of the President and the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement. This year, University of Texas Regent Printice L. Gary joined President Bill Powers and Vice President Dr. Gregory J. Vincent presenting the awards. The Community Leadership Circle Award was recently renamed to honor Dr. James L. Hill, the first African American vice president of UT Austin and longtime educator who died September 2.

Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 12.54.48 PM

The honorees were:

  • Special Recognition — Edwin R. Sharpe, clinical professor, Department of Educational Administration, The University of Texas at Austin; former UT System executive vice chancellor and former UT Austin vice president for administration
  • Community Partnership Award — The Villager Newspaper, published by T. L. “Tommy” Wyatt, who was a founding member of the Capital City African American Chamber of Commerce and the Texas Publishers Association
  • Dr. James L. Hill Community Leadership Circle Award — Nelson Linder, president of the Austin chapter of the NAACP since 2000 and founder of the Garvey/Allen/Washington Project
  • Dr. June Brewer Legacy Award — The Honorable Wilhelmina Delco, former state representative who served for 10 terms and was the first female speaker pro tempore of the Texas Legislature

DDCE’s annual Community Leadership Awards presentations support the strategic plan’s Community Engagement objective to build a comprehensive community relations program. Thank you to all of our campus and community partners who make these events possible.

Previous post:

Next post: