Post image for Honoring 2013 Tower Award Recipients

Honoring 2013 Tower Award Recipients

April 26, 2013

On May 1, 2013 the Longhorn Center for Community Engagement honored the following Tower Awards recipients. The Tower Awards are presented annually to honor excellence in volunteerism at The University of Texas at Austin; a tradition which began in 1998.  Today the ceremony recognizes students, faculty, and staff of the university, as well as community agencies and university-community partnership efforts.

Congratulations to the following 2013 recipients!

Outstanding Student Volunteer Award
Alice Chen
Brittney Wittenbrink
Dhruv Goel
Loriann Kovacic
Paulina Sosa
Honorable Mention: Yi Wang

Outstanding Student Organization Award
Hook the Cure
University Leadership Initiative
Honorable Mention: Hispanic Business Student Association

Outstanding Service Project Award
Young Engineers and Scientists Day/Leadership Through Engineering Day
Honorable Mention: Minis and Friends

Bright Future Award
UT Elementary – Little Longhorns
Students Serving Students Award
Nicole Ciesinki
Andy Escobar
Lisa Guerra
Gregory Vincent
Longhorn Center for Academic Excellence: Mentor of the Year
Iliana Sotiriou
Longhorn Center for Academic Excellence: Outstanding Service Project
Project Volunteer

Outstanding Academic Service Learning Course Award
CMS 310K-Team-Based Communication Course

Outstanding Academic Service Learning Professor Award
Professor Barbara Brown Wilson
Professor Omoniyi Afolabi

Faculty/Staff Award
Lori K Holleran Steiker
Honorable Mention: Mathew Remington

Glen Baumgart Award for Visionary Civic Engagement
Sonia Kotecha
Good Neighbor Award
Longhorn Steakhouse
Helping Hand Award
George Luc
Ladye Anne Wofford

Previous post:

Next post: