Austin NAACP Honors Dr. Gregory J. Vincent

December 9, 2011

The Austin NAACP honored Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, vice president for Diversity and Community Engagement at the University of Texas at Austin with its highest honor–the DeWitty/Overton Freedom Award. Austin NAACP President Nelson Linder presented the award to Vincent at the group’s 46th Annual DeWitty/Overton Freedom Fund Banquet on Saturday, December 10, 2011, at the Austin Sheraton.

GJV with award

Dr. Gregory J. Vincent accepts the Dewitty/Overton Award from Nelson Linder, President of the Austin NAACP.

“Dr. Gregory Vincent has been in the trenches since arriving in Austin and has given of himself to raise awareness and educate the community on the importance of diversity and inclusion. Selecting him as the DeWitty/Overton recipient this year is our way of acknowledging his value and unselfish contribution to causes that affect people not just here in Austin but around the world,” said Linder.

Vincent joined the University of Texas in 2005 as the vice provost for inclusion and cross-cultural effectiveness. In 2006, he was promoted to his current position. He also serves as a professor in the School of Law and the College of  Education.

As a member of the Austin community, Vincent has championed a number of issues and been awarded for his passion and purpose. Most recently he has been one of the primary advocates for the African American Studies Cultural Center on East 12th Street. In 2009, the Austin NAACP was honored to select him for its annual Community Service Award.

Reverend G.V. Clark of Mt. Zion Baptist Church in East Austin was the keynote speaker at the event. In addition to presenting the Dewitty/Overton Award to Vincent, the Austin NAACP also conferred the following awards during the banquet:

• Austin Police Officer, Christopher V. Davis – Captain Louie White Award
• Austin Police Officer, Lawrence L. Davis – Captain Louie White Award
• Jeffrey K. Richards – Community Service Award
• Steve Miller – Community Service Award (Bastrop)
• Dereck L. Williams – Community Service Award (Constable’s Office)
• Gregory L. Smith – Community Service Award
• Ethel B. Mitchell – Community Service Award (Deborah Grand Lodge)
• LaTonya J. Pegues – Community Service Award
• Nelda Spears – Outstanding Public Service, Travis County Tax Assessor/Collector
• Polly Street – NAACP Lifetime Achievement Award

The Austin branch of the NAACP has worked diligently to address the key economic, social and political issues facing people of color. The DeWitty/Overton Freedom Fund Banquet has established itself as one of the premier events in the capital city of Texas celebrating the diverse accomplishments of individuals who have served the community and upheld the rigors of social equality.

Previous post:

Next post: