University of Texas Honors Community Leaders at the Carver Museum

December 12, 2012

The University of Texas at Austin honored one organization and three individuals for outstanding public service and work on civil rights at the Sixth Annual Community Leadership Awards Ceremony at the Carver Museum and Cultural Center on Thursday, Dec. 6 at 6:30 p.m. The event is co-sponsored by the Office of the President and the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement. This year University of Texas Regent Printice L. Gary joined President Bill Powers and Vice President Dr. Gregory J. Vincent presenting the awards.

2012 UT Community Leadership Awards Ceremony

Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, Regent Prentice Gary and President Bill Powers were honored to present Wilhelmina Delco with the Dr. June Brewer Legacy Award


“Each year, the university is honored to recognize individuals and organizations that have helped make our community stronger and more inclusive,” said Bill Powers, president of The University of Texas at Austin. “Through their courage and leadership, all of our honorees have played a key role in making Austin a city we can be proud of.”

The honorees were:

  • Special Recognition — Edwin R. Sharpe, clinical professor, Department of Educational Administration, The University of Texas at Austin; former UT System executive vice chancellor and former UT Austin vice president for administration
  • Community Partnership Award — The Villager Newspaper, published by T. L. “Tommy” Wyatt, who was a founding member of the Capital City African American Chamber of Commerce and the Texas Publishers Association
  • Dr. James L. Hill Community Leadership Circle Award — Nelson Linder, president of the Austin chapter of the NAACP since 2000 and founder of the Garvey/Allen/Washington Project
  • Dr. June Brewer Legacy Award — Wilhelmina Delco, former state representative who served for 10 terms and was the first female speaker pro tempore of the Texas Legislature

The Community Leadership Circle Award was recently renamed to honor Dr. James L. Hill, the first African American vice president of UT Austin and longtime educator who died Sept. 2.

2012 UT Community Leadership Awards Ceremony

2012 Community Leadership Award winners Nelson Linder, Wilhelmina Delco, Dr. Edwin R. Sharpe and T. L. “Tommy” Wyatt


“It is with great pleasure that we are honoring individuals who have made exceptional contributions for many years and continue to do so today,” said Vincent, vice president for diversity and community engagement. “I’m especially pleased that we are able to recognize the late Dr. James L. Hill by naming the Community Leadership Circle Award in his honor. Dr. Hill was a role model for all of us through his leadership and steadfast dedication to education and his community.”


Previous post:

Next post: