Intellectual Entrepreneurship (IE) Citizen Scholars Hosts Annual Research Contest

April 21, 2014

On April 14, the Intellectual Entrepreneurship (IE) Citizen Scholars, IE’s student organization, hosted its Third Annual Research Contest for students from all disciplines on campus.

The contest provides current and former IE Pre Grad interns and students interested in IE the opportunity to showcase their research, ambitions and aspirations. Eighteen students were accepted to present their research; all were all eligible to win prizes.

Several of UT’s colleges and schools were represented: the College of Education, the College of Natural Sciences, the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Fine Arts, LBJ School of Public Affairs and the Moody College of Communication.

cintia hinojosa and fernanda herrera

Seniors Cintia Hinojosa and Fernanda Herrera were two of the 18 students who presented.

The winners:

First Place ($300): Maria E. Gutierrez, Spanish and Bilingual Ed, “Attitudes and
Judgments Towards Accented Speech: the Influence of Ethnicity and Language

Second Place ($150): Cintia Hinijosa, Psychology “Ostracism as a Motivator for
Peer Imitation”

Third Place ($125): Ignacio Cruz, Corporate Communication, “Don’t Just Sit in the Back: Developing Social Capital Through Involvement and Leadership in Voluntary Organizational Meetings”


Senior Ignacio Cruz took third place for his work on developing social capital.

Fourth Place ($100): Katelyn Woolheater, Public Health, “Evaluation of
Community-Based Intervention (STOP-DM) for Korean Americans: Measured v.
Perceived Health”

Fifth Place ($75): Maryann Flores, Audiology, “Comparing Semantic Development in
Young Monolinguals and Bilinguals: Evidence from Repeated Word

Honorable Mentions ($50): Brandon Daniels Communication Studies, “Ann Richards’
Rhetoric of Gender” and Julia Martz, Psychology “The mPOA Modulates
Cocaine-Induced Locomotion in Male Rats”

Brandon Daniels

Junior Brandon Daniels won an honorable mention for his project analyzing the rhetoric of former Governor Ann Richards.

Special thanks to the Office of Undergraduate Research, Dr. Rick Cherwitz, Lisa Mosely, Angelina Zulas, Dr. Tommy Darwin, Dr. Smita Ruzicka, Virginia Luehrsen, Dr. Barbara Davis, Dr. Catherine Echols and all of the IE Citizen Scholars who helped organize this event.

Previous post:

Next post: