Advisory Council Members De Leon, Windham and Appleman Honored

August 28, 2014

Hector De Leon, chair of the DDCE Advisory Council along with two other members of the Advisory Council, Darrell Windham and Gordon Appleman, have been honored as among the 2015 Best Lawyers in America. De Leon has been honored for his work in insurance law, Windham in corporate law and mergers and acquisition law, and Appelman in employee benefits law, tax law and trusts and estates. All three are University of Texas at Austin alumni.

“We are honored to have Hector, Darrell and Gordon serve on the DDCE Advisory Council and have greatly benefited from the advice of all three. Congratulations to each of them for their continued outstanding accomplishments,” said Dr. Gregory J. Vincent, vice president for diversity and community engagement.

De LeonDe Leon, a partner in De Leon & Washburn P.C.,  has been active in many Austin organizations. currently serves on the board of directors for  The University of Texas Foundation Inc., the Brackenridge Development Council and the Children at Heart Ministries. He graduated from The University of Texas with a Bachelor of Science degree in 1970 and earned his law degree from The University of Texas School of Law in 1973.

WindhamWindham, co-managing shareholder of the Austin office of Greenberg Traurig LLP, graduated from UT Austin with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in 1975 and from UT Austin School of Law in 1978. Windham has been active in the Austin community, serving as president of the Austin Museum of Art/Arthouse board of trustees, director of the Austin Longhorn Club and board member for the Austin Development Nature Conservancy among active membership in many other organizations.

ApplemanAppleman, who is affiliated with Thompson & Knight L.L.P., earned a bachelor of arts degree from UT Austin in 1959 and earned his LL.B. from Harvard University Law School in 1962.He has been named a distinguished alumnus and honored by the College of Liberal Arts at UT with the college’s highest honor, the Pro Bene Meritis award.

Previous post:

Next post: