University of Texas at AustinDivision of Diversity and Community Engagement

Government + Law

Jason M. Brownlee
Government and Middle Eastern Studies
brownlee@austin.utexas.edu

Sally H. Clarke
History, Gender Equity
sclarke@austin.utexas.edu

Edwin Dorn
Public Affairs
eddorn@austin.utexas.edu

William Forbath
Constitutional Law, Legal History
WForbath@law.utexas.edu

Terri Givens
Politics of immigration in Europe and the U.S.;  immigration policy, anti-immigrant Radical Right parties and antidiscrimination policy in Europe; developing immigrant and ethnic minority political involvement in the U.S. and Europe
tgivens@austin.utexas.edu

Eden Harrington
Public service and experiential learning, with an emphasis on professionalism and ethics in the legal profession
EHarrington@law.utexas.edu

Juliet Hooker
Previous research focused on racial justice and multiculturalism in Latin America, especially indigenous and Afro-descendant struggles for rights; current research focuses on how to formulate anti-racist politics within ostensibly post-racial or color-blind political communities, by comparing U.S. African American and Latin American political thinkers from the 19th and 20th centuries
juliethooker@austin.utexas.edu

Ramey Ko
Immigration law and reform; Mental health awareness and advocacy at the local, state, and national level, particularly within underserved communities; Coalition building between minority and marginalized communities; Voting rights and civic participation; Political activism with a focus on progressive and social justice issues and candidates; Domestic violence, sexual assault; Promoting equal access to resources and services for marginalized, Limited English Proficient, or underserved communities
ramey.ko@gmail.com

Stephen H. Marshall
Race and Social Justice
shmarshall@mail.utexas.edu

Eric L. McDaniel
The role of religion in shaping political attitudes, with an emphasis on the role of the Social Gospel in promoting support for progressive issues; examining trends in health disparities to understand how economic and political shifts can explain the expansion and shrinkage of disparities
emcdaniel@austin.utexas.edu

Mary Rose
Sociology, Law
mrose@austin.utexas.edu

Gerald Torres
Water law and water related issues; federal Indian law and critical race studies; the relationship between social movements and durable legal change
GTorres@law.utexas.edu