University of Texas at AustinDivision of Diversity and Community Engagement

Language + Communication

Mary Beltran
The construction of race, class, and gender in U.S. television, film, and celebrity culture—with an emphasis on Latina/o and mixed race representation –and how media texts and producers articulate and challenge social hierarchies and group identities; Critical and cultural studies of television and film, celebrity studies, feminist media studies, media activism and alternative media
Mary.Beltran@austin.utexas.edu

Dana Cloud
Marxist theory, rhetorical theory and criticism, postmodernism, feminist theory, queer theory, public sphere theory, communication and social movements, labor movement, political rhetoric, and critical study of popular culture
dcloud@austin.utexas.edu

Ian Hancock
The human rights and civil rights of the Romani minority population; Educational provision and curricula for Romani children
xulaj@mail.utexas.edu

Robert Jensen
Consequences of concentrated power, from the most intimate spaces to the global, focusing on the pathology of privilege; racial and economic injustice in the context of the ecological crisis
rjensen@austin.utexas.edu

Kevin Thomas
Deconstructing how identity markers (i.e. race, gender, class, and sexuality) are represented in marketing communication and experienced in the marketplace
kevin.thomas@utexas.edu

Karin Gwinn Wilkins
Development communication and social change; global communication; middle east studies; and political engagement
Karin.wilkins@austin.utexas.edu

Anthony Woodbury
Indigenous languages of the Americas; human linguistic diversity; language documentation and description; Chatino languages of Oaxaca, Mexico
woodbury@austin.utexas.edu