University of Texas at AustinDivision of Diversity and Community Engagement

Race + Inequality in Education

Keisha L. Bentley-Edwards
How cultural strengths can be used to minimize the negative outcomes related to racism stress, same race violence, and school/community stressors for African American youth; precursors that lead to Black youth’s agency around Black community uplift
kbentleyedwards@austin.utexas.edu

Anthony Brown
Historical and contemporary issues/discourses concerning African American students in schools and society; theory suggesting the examination of historical and racial constructions of African Americans within the social sciences, educational literature and popular discourse/curriculum is vital to making sense of how questions are raised, and how educational and curricular reforms are pursued for present African American students
alb@austin.utexas.edu

Keffrelyn Brown
Secondary Education & African American Students
keffrelyn@austin.utexas.edu

Kevin Cokley
African American psychology: the construction of racial and ethnic identities, Afrocentric psychology, academic motivation, academic self-concept, and understanding the psychological and environmental factors that impact African American student achievement; the impostor phenomenon and its links to mental health and academic outcomes
kevin.cokley@austin.utexas.edu

Noah De Lissovoy
Critical pedagogy and cultural studies; race and racism in education; connecting theories of coloniality and capitalism; globalization, education, and social movements
delissovoy@austin.utexas.edu

Douglas Foley
Education Inequality and Race
dfoley@austin.utexas.edu

Kevin Foster
African African American, and African Diaspora Studies, Education, Administration, Anthropology
kmfoster@austin.utexas.edu

Louis Harrison Jr.
Cultural Studies in Education, Physical Education
harrison.keller@austin.utexas.edu

Julian Vasquez Heilig
Quantitatively and qualitatively examining how high-stakes testing and accountability-based reforms/market reforms impact urban minority students;  issues of access, diversity and equity in higher education
jvh@austin.utexas.edu

Jeanette Herman
Bridging Disciplines Program
hermanjm@austin.utexas.edu

Aletha Huston
Effects of poverty and public policy on children and families
achuston@austin.utexas.edu

Cynthia Osborne
Inequalities in early childhood that negatively influence school readiness for children; policies to strengthen families and early intervention policies
cosborne@prc.utexas.edu

Richard Reddick
Black faculty and faculty of color navigating service obligations and community responsibilities in the context of predominantly White, research-intensive universities; issues of work-life balance for junior faculty of color; phenomenological experiences of faculty teaching, researching, and living in their communities of origin
richard.reddick@austin.utexas.edu

Victor Saenz
Education Adminstration, Race and Higher Education
vsaenz@austin.utexas.edu

Richard Valencia
History of the education of students of color; race, education, and litigation; deficit thinking in education; race and intelligence; school failure and success of students of color; the achievement gap; and systemic school reform
richard.valencia@mail.utexas.edu

Angela Valenzuela
Cultural Studies in Education, Education Policy
valenz@austin.utexas.edu

Gregory Vincent
The achievement gap of young African American males and other underrepresented students; education pipeline and social action initiatives; civil rights law; thematic hiring; community-university partnerships; and equity and access in higher education as it pertains to issues of diversity and affirmative action
gvincent@austin.utexas.edu