University of Texas at AustinDivision of Diversity and Community Engagement

Women’s + Gender Studies

Arturo Arias
Contemporary indigenous literature; bridging Latin American indigenous novelistic production with Western cultural critical thinking
arturo_arias@austin.utexas.edu

Jossianna Arroyo-Martinez
Diasporic Literatures & Cultures; Race, Gender & Sexuality in Colonial & Postcolonial Societies.
jarroyo@austin.utexas.edu

Ruramisai Charumbira
Pre-1800 history of (Southern) Africa, Africa’s colonial histories, particularly its impact on women’s lives; comparative women’s and gender history; historical memory; ethno-archaeology; and Africa’s 20th century intellectual life.
r-c@austin.utexas.edu

Evelyn Clingerman
Health Promotion in Under-Served Populations, Women’s and Gender Studies
emclinge@yahoo.com

Janet M. Davis
Social and Cultural History, American Studies, and Women’s and Gender Studies; Specifically, the history of American popular culture, cultural considerations of US foreign relations, and transnational social movements
janetmdavis@austin.utexas.edu

Gloria González-López
Incest and sexual violence in Mexican families; work based on in-depth individual interviews with women and men with histories of incestuous relationships and who live in four large urban centers, which include Ciudad Juárez, Guadalajara, Mexico City and Monterrey
gloria@austin.utexas.edu

Barbara J. Harlow
Undergraduate courses in human rights and social justice, graduate seminars on various topics related to literature and human rights
bharlow@austin.utexas.edu

Kristen Hogan
Teaching strategies for social justice research skills in library sessions; how feminist, queer, and racial justice literature is made visible or invisible through the structure of research tools and publishing and distribution mechanisms; the histories of feminist bookstores transnationally with a focus on how feminist bookwomen within the U.S. got and kept books in print and changed how people read those books
hogank@austin.utexas.edu

Omi Oshun Joni Jones
Associate Professor of Theatre and Dance and of African and African Diaspora Studies
jonijones@austin.utexas.edu

Sofian Merabet
Modern Middle East (with a focus on Lebanon and Syria) and the wider Muslim world, including Muslim immigrant communities in Europe and the Arab Diaspora in South America (especially Argentina); Socio-Cultural Theory/Psychoanalysis/Urban Studies/Gender Studies/Queer Theory/Muslim World, Europe, South America
sofian.merabet@austin.utexas.edu

Matt Richardson
Sexuality and Social Policy
mattrichardson@austin.utexas.edu

Christen Smith
Black Activism, Grassroots Activism in Brazil and the Americas
christen.smith@austin.utexas.edu

Shannon Speed
Gender, Human Rights and Social Justice
sspeed@austin.utexas.edu

Pauline Strong
Construction of gendered and racialized cultural citizenship in US youth organizations; historical and contemporary representations and self-representations of Native Americans US culture
pstrong@austin.utexas.edu

Rebecca Torres
Gender and Activism, Poverty and Development
rebecca.torres@austin.utexas.edu

Lynn Westbrook
Personal crises for women (domestic violence and sexual human trafficking) and elder abuse; information issues involved in the patient experiences of cervical and other gynecological cancers
lynnwest@ischool.utexas.edu

Shane Whalley
Gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer identities; homophobia and heterosexism; social justice frameworks
swhalley@austin.utexas.edu

Jennifer Wilks
African American Literature, Women’s and Gender Studies
jmwilks@austin.utexas.edu